WOMEN, CYCLING, ETC. – A CONVERSATION AMONG FRIENDS

(An unstructured chat among fellow cyclists. Definitely  not a questionnaire) 

children with push balance bikesA. YOU AND CYCLING

1. You are a woman    YES________/No __________

2. You have a bicycle  YES________/No __________

3. You ride a bicycle fairly often in your day to day life as “normal transport:  YES______/No ____

4. You find that is not always that easy, safe or agreeable to use a bike in your city. YES____/No _____ (City name)_______________________________

5. You understand that in different places/cultures actually having and riding a bike for a woman is not all that easy, for many reasons. . . YES________/No ______________

Continue reading

Standing upon the shoulders of giants

From: Protasio Chipulu, Programme Coordinator.
Rural Accessibility and Mobility Programme. Lusaka, Zambia

Sent: 09 December 2015
ref: Gatnet: Gearing up for 2016

Dear Eric,

I went to the search engine ; https://goo.gl/fDb0n

In the window I typed Gender Mainstreaming in rural transport.  I found a catalogue of publications on the subject and this I find to be very useful for my work and for my research.

What you have created is very innovate and good platform to use for use in promoting our agenda.  I will share this site with my colleagues in the sector.

How can we include other publications which I can get from my country?

Continue reading